Photo of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati.

BSP releases 2nd list of 100 more candidates for UP polls

64 0

Lucknow: The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati today released the second list of 100 candidates, taking the total number of contestants it has announced so far to 200.

Earlier, Mayawati had released her first list of 100 candidates on Thursday and today list carries names for assembly segments that go to the polls in the second (February 15) and third phase (February 19) of the state’s staggered election.

In this second list it includes candidates for Etawah and Mainpuri, the stronghold of arch rival the Samajwadi Party.

V.K. Agarwal has been given ticket from Palia (Lakhimpur), Ramhet Bharti from Hargon, Mahesh Chandra Mishra from Maholi, retired IPS officer Gurbachan Lal from Puvaya, Mohd Aslam Khan from Shahjahanpur Sadar and Avdhesh Kumar Verma from Tilhar.

Anees Ansari will be the BSP nominee from Bareilly City and Rajendra Prasad Gupta from Bareilly Cantt.

Narendra Nath Chaturvedi has been fielded from Etawah, Durgesh Shakya (Jaswantnagar), Raghvendra Gautam (Bharthana), Mohd Umar Khan (Farukkhabad), Nitin Singh (Kannauj), Tahir Hussain (Chibramau), Vijay Singh (Tirwa) and Anurag Singh from Kannauj.

Mayawati also declared candidates for Lucknow: Ajay Srivastava (Lucknow North), Arman Khan (Lucknow West), Saroj Shukla (Lucknow East) and Rajiv Srivastava (Lucknow Central).

Maharaj Singh has been fielded from Mainpuri, the pocket borough of Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav.

In this article

Join the Conversation