New York: Social media giant Instagram is launching out a new ‘archive’ feature that will allow the users to hide their posts from other users but keeping them safe to restore the visibility or to look at it in private.
When Instagrammers do not get the traction they want from their posts, they delete the content which also deprives Instagram of monetisable content. The company is now launching this feature “to keep you locked into the service”, Tech Crunch reported on Monday.
“We are always testing new ways to improve the Instagram experience,” a company spokesperson said.
He said the “archive” option creates a private space for personal viewing of old posts.
The company will expand the availability of the archive option over the next few months as it continues to iterate on it.
To use the “archive” option (if you have access), a user needs to tap the “…” button on any of his/her posts and select to archive it.
On top right corner of the profile, he/she will see the encircled clock icon, which opens archive where only the user can see posts which were archived. From there these posts can be restored.